Writing a Bad Check in Nevada
Every now and again, we at Steve Dixon Law get a call from a client who received a check that bounced, or was sent back for insufficient funds. In other words, their clients wrote a bad check. What are the ramifications of writing a bad check in Nevada?
Bad Check Laws and Criminal Penalties
In Nevada, intentionally writing a bad check is a criminal act. It can be punishable as a misdemeanor or a felony. This depends on the size of the check and how often you write bad checks. See NRS 205.130.
Bad Checks and Civil Pentalties
Nevada also allows for civil penalties for writing a bad check. Whether you meant to or not, writing a bad check (or using an invalid debit or credit card) can result in penalties. Regardless of whether you wrote a bad check intentionally or by accident, your use of the check or card creates a liability to repay the amount promised by you. Issuing a bad check in Nevada, again regardless of intent, means not only will you have to pay the full amount of the check, but you can also be penalized for damages. Those damages can include attorney fees and costs if you are pursued in Court, along with a minimum penalty of $100 and a maximum penalty of $500 just for writing the check. See NRS 41.620.
Banks Aren’t So Bad
Based on the above, maybe banks that charge an overdraft fee aren’t so bad. They usually only hit your account for a $25 fee for an overdrawn account, when they could technically charge you more.
Debt Collection Services
If you or your business have received a bad check from a client, don’t hesitate to call Steve Dixon Law at (702) 329-4911. Our office has great experience in collecting debts from your clients. This includes when bad checks are written in Nevada. Call now for your free consultation.